Chocolate and Sesame Macaron

Head’s kinda spinning from my experiments today… Let’s see if I can just type through it. Hopefully I will start making sense somewhere before the end of this post.

I made two batches of Chocolate Macarons a couple days ago. I made them seperately to see if I could get consistent results, and in that regard, I did pretty well since they BOTH failed. Cracks in every single shell and I can’t tell you why.

Well, after today’s experiments, I have a hunch. Two days ago I used four-days old egg whites. I read online that actually the older the better, and that some people find five-days old ones to the best. Maybe they are, maybe they aren’t. Either way I apparently don’t know how to use them to their fullest potential and thus, those two batches were garbage to me.

At the end of that day, I seperated 6 egg whites to use this afternoon for a chocolate replacement batch. This morning, though, I was eager to use my newly purchased black sesame powder. I knew I was taking a gamble because I didn’t have any more aged egg whites, but what the hell. I seperated 3 more eggs and left them uncovered at room temperature.

 

For egg whites that were only aged about 5 hours, the sesame ones turned out very well, much better than I expected. The feet on them aren’t as distinct as I’d like them to be, but there’s some of it. They did get FILLED too, which I love! Sometimes I have hallowness in my cookies and it makes me sad :( But these are filled and yummy. The only complaint I have with this batch was that they too also browned! Seems like this is a big problem for me… Next time I’ll have to remember to decrease the baking time.

The chocolate batch looked great in the oven (my favorite part is watching them rise in the oven). They began to rise more than I have ever seen, and I thought to myself, YAY I did something right today! Quite sadly though they collapsed immediately after taking them out of the oven. What’s that about, I don’t know. I’ll have to do some googling tonight.

While my sesame ones were slightly over-baked, the chocolate ones were slightly under-baked. From what I’ve seen so far too, some of them are hollow. But maybe the baking time correlates with the hallow shells? Gotta look into that too.

So they might not be perfect, they might not even be sellable, but at least my stomach is happy! Black sesame is already going to be one of my all time favorites. Although I’m not sure how to fill them… I’d love to have the tang yuan filling but that would run right out of the sandwich. Oh well, I bet I will spend the rest of my (sleepless) night wondering about this exact predictament.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

