Green Tea Macarons

Baking soothes me. So does writing in this blog.

Yesterday I was ambitious and made FOUR batches of macarons at once. The only part that failed was when I added the green tea powder (I forgot to multiply by four :( ) and while baking. At least I had a really sweet epiphany, and that’s the reason these darn things are collapsing. Of course it correlates with baking time. Seems so obvious (you probably knew!) I don’t know why I was so puzzled. Clearly they are underbaked, that’s why they collapse. If it wasn’t still wet inside the cookie, instead dry, then clearly it wouldn’t collapse. Just wouldn’t be possible! It hit me on the side of the head right after I took them (all FOUR BATCHES) out of the oven, and boom, there they’re feet went. All of them. Goodness, they were so beautiful in the oven too :(

Oh well. Another sweet epiphany I had was the use of cream of tartar was not helping me. In the last couple of batches I’ve been adding a pinch of cream of tartar to my egg whites because it’s supposed to help them be less fickle. Since I’ve been having such a hard time lately making decent macarons, I decided to go sans-tartar and although I’m not completely sure the problem was the tartar to begin with, the cookies are better today than they were last week.

Since I am quite math-challenged and forgot to multiply my green tea powder by four, the cookies didn’t turn out green at all. Quite sad because they are quite ugly :(

Yucky color

And tip: don’t use even slightly salted butter for buttercream. I thought it would help balance out the sweetness (I was trying to be resourceful!) but god, it was awful. I chucked the whole thing. You’re better off adding a little bit of your own salt and even some lemon juice.

Green Tea with mango buttercream

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

