Macaron Mastering

Whoops, it’s been a while since my last post :( Well it hasn’t helped that I’ve been staying at work late (like right now… its almost 12AM). Although I do happen to be baking for a good few hours each time I stay late. Over the weekend and again today I attempted to perfect my baguettes. I also had a little time to sneak in my favorites — macarons!

Interesting thought though: the other day I was chatting with a friend who asked me why I was so obsessed with them. He said that he’s had them and didn’t find them to be all that interesting. And you know what? I agree. Macarons aren’t that interesting… to EAT. I find them to always be too sweet, no matter how much I trim the sugar content by. And they are so expensive. If I didn’t have this obsession with making them, I don’t think I would ever buy macarons in my life. Ha, though I am guilty of over-charging for them myself :(

Anyway, the point is I’m not obsessed with eating macarons, I’m simply obsessed about making macarons. I’m not sure if I can put this clearly into words but I guess it’s striving to achieve something that many others cannot. I mean this could apply to a lot of things in life, to a lot of people. That’s like saying not everyone can be a doctor (true story), but I think the fact that it’s something so small, something so trivial , that’s why it’s attracting to me. And not everyone has the patience for this. How many failed batches of macarons have I made so far? A lot. But how many batches of good ones have I made? Quite a few, too. Maybe I feel like this because normally I don’t have the patience for this kind of crap. That by now, I’d be so far from the line that the line would be a dot to me!

Or maybe it’s just me trying to control something that under normal circumstances is so diffuclt to control. Gee, I wonder what that’s like, not being able to control something you want. I’m pretty sure it’s something we call life.

Leave a comment